01329 242617
Top industry honour for Lucketts chairman

A Hampshire business leader has been presented with one of the coach industry’s highest awards.

David Luckett MBE, chairman of Lucketts Travel, was handed the Special Award at last week’s routeone Awards.

The routeone Awards are the most sought-after accolades for the coach and bus and sector. They recognise and celebrate achievements, innovation and the highest standards of excellence in all aspects of operating. The special award is handed every year to the individual who is judged to have made a very special contribution to the industry.

Judges described David as a “catalyst in the development of the family business into one of the most familiar and well-respected names in coaching” and also praised his contribution to the development of the coach industry as a whole.

David’s career in the transport industry spans over more than five decades. He is the son of Lucketts founder, Harry Luckett, who set up the company as a haulage firm in 1926. David took over the reins in 1966 when his father passed away and was instrumental in Lucketts’ move from haulage into the coach travel industry in the 1970s. He bought the first coach in 1976 and has overseen the company’s impressive growth since then.

Lucketts Group now boasts five coach brands, based from Bournemouth in the west to Worthing in the East. Its fleet contains more than 160 vehicles and David remains involved to this day as chairman. As well as holding an MBE he is a Fellow of the Institute of Transport Administration (IoTA).

David said: “It was a hugely pleasant surprise to be presented with this award. The coach industry is one that I’m proud to have worked in all my life. There have been many changes over the decades but Lucketts has taken each and every one as an opportunity. It’s a driving factor in the company’s longevity.”

David wasn’t the only person from Lucketts to be applauded on the night. Three employees were also highlighted as finalists, having impressed judges in a rigorous interview process and made the shortlist.

Jess Barber was a finalist in the manager of the year category, while Stuart Brown and Mark Jordan were both finalists in the engineer of the year category.